summer at the shore…

Hello from mid-summer in Maine!

We’ve been very busy settling into our new home this past month, and in between unpacking boxes, we’ve been playing at the beach! Today I uploaded about 400 pictures from the last few months, and decided it’s about time I posted some of them here, in this quite neglected space. There are so many, it’s hard to know where to begin… The following photos were taken in early July, at a sweet little beach we found at a nearby state park.

I managed to take a few of both boys together, looking extra cute in their sweet little matching swimsuits, courtesy of Grandma…

Watching the boys play in the sand, I remember so clearly being young at the beach with my family. We spent many days there throughout the summers of my early childhood.

The weight of the salty air, heavy with seawater, on my skin, is so familiar, and so comforting. In the midst of one of my life’s biggest transitions, sitting by the sea, soaking it up through every pore in my body, I know we’ve made the right decision. We’ve found the place we are meant to be, here and now.

On this particular day, Isaiah quickly requested I not photograph him while he played. Quinn, however, didn’t seem to mind…

The littlest among us agrees, I think– we’re happy to be here.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joe
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 21:50:40

    I love the picture of Isaiah standing on the mound of sand with Quinn standing behind him. It reminds me of the series of pictures depicting man evolving. In the blink of an eye he’s tiny, then big…

    Reply

  2. Jason
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 09:20:39

    That’s great you associate your childhood with these impressionable times in the boys’ lives. Love that you’re exactly where you want to be. I like Joe’s observation too 🙂

    Reply

  3. Deb McNamara
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 22:17:40

    Ahhhh…. soak up some water in the air for me too!!!!!! it is 90plus degrees here and HOT AND DRY! love you!

    Reply

Leave a comment