gratitude for what has been

Goodbye, Colorado… I’ll miss so much about you…

I will miss the mountains, and the energy they impart into the landscape, and into the people living near them. For ten years I’ve lived in Boulder, a unique little city nestled in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. At some point during each day, I’ve found myself gazing toward the western horizon, drinking in the view of those mountains, and every time I’ve looked at them, often without even thinking about it, I’ve taken a deeper breath. Now, as we move our little family from those majestic Rockies toward the ocean, I’m hoping that looking eastward, toward the sea, will give me that same unconscious nudge to pause, take a long, deep drink of the ocean-soaked air, and be grateful for it. I think it will. Goodbye, Rocky Mountains! Thank you for all the lessons you’ve taught me, for inviting me to hike along so many dusty trails amidst red rocks and silvery sagebrush, butterscotch-scented pine trees, and mountain wildflowers. Sigh. I will miss those hikes.

I will miss our beloved Boulder Creek, and the paths we’ve followed along it, all over town. I will miss sitting by the creek outside the library on hot, hot, sunny summer days, watching my boys wade around in the chilly water, dig in the mud, fill buckets with pebbles, stones, and mud, and rest in the welcome shade of the trees growing nearby. When I first moved from the East Coast to Colorado, I was a bit concerned about the lack of proximity to the coast, and wondered how I would manage without that water energy close by. Soon, however, I discovered the magical effects of this lovely creek, an almost-constantly moving source of water… the glacial ice and snow melts, rushing down the mountains, flowing through town, clearing the energy as it moves. In the warmer months, the cold water cools the air around the creek as it flows, creating the perfect respite from the intense sun, which can feel a bit punishing, sometimes, at a higher altitude. Boulder would not be the amazing place it is, I don’t think, without this creek, and the impressive network of paths –and inviting resting places– that run alongside it. Goodbye, Boulder Creek! Thank you.

Most of all, I will miss the people. The amazing, inspired, inspiring, conscious, creative, loving, kind and generous people that I have been fortunate enough to know and love, and have in my life, during the decade I lived in Boulder. Too numerous to mention individually, they know who they are, and they know how grateful I am to have had the opportunity to be in relationship with each of them. They have taught me so much: to slow down, and notice; to feel, deeply; to open up my heart and let the world in, even though it hurts, and even though it’s scary; to look within, and excavate that which no longer serves me, and figure out how to let it go, and keep letting go, and letting go, over and over, until I’ve started to become healthy, and so much more authentic than I ever was before. I have learned so much from my friends and family, teachers, co-teachers, midwives, and energy workers over these years I’ve been living “out West.” And I am still learning, still excavating, still being reminded, daily, to breathe and let go, breathe… and let go. I will miss all of these beloved people. They really know how to live, to embrace life in all its gifts and suffering, to not just float through their days, inattentive and busy. I appreciate that about so many people I’ve known in Colorado — some born there, but most brought there by choice, by their desire to plant themselves intentionally in that rocky soil… and bloom!

In particular, I will miss “my Naropa people,” some of whom have already blazed trails away from Boulder, and all of whom know how to breathe consciously, bear witness, hold space, laugh and cry simultaneously –even gracefully– and, perhaps most importantly, give the best hugs. (My husband loves to joke about what he calls my “Naropa –ahhh– hugs,” which are long, soulful, and punctuated by deep, satisfied sighs. Ahhh… love.)

And I will so miss my mama friends, whose presence, guidance, and support I have been so very blessed with during these early years of being a mother. These women are so honest, so brave, loving, and funny, and so, so devoted to their little ones… their children are blessed to be in the care of such compassionate, generous, intelligent and self-aware women. Mamas, I am honored to have had the privilege to mother alongside of you, to watch our babies explore and play, and (so quickly!) grow into such unique, strong, sensitive little people. Dear friends, I will miss you each, so very, very much. Thank you. Thank you.

I moved out to Boulder, to attend graduate school at Naropa University, ten years ago this May, in my 1986 Oldsmobile, packed full of all my worldly belongings… and now I’m moving back east, to a place a few hours north of my birthplace, with a much more reliable car, (and with a whole moving truck full of furniture and “stuff”!) and one dear husband, two small, beloved children, and two dogs. Boulder has been good to me, and my cup surely runneth over. Onward, Eastward… my boys and I are off! (Yes, we’re really doing this!) Please visit us in Maine, by the enchanted sea, and the elf- and gnome-laden woods! You’re always welcome. Farewell, my friends… the circle is open, but unbroken. Merry we’ve met, merry part, and merry may we meet again!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. www.theevolvinghomemaker.com
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 17:04:47

    Oh my goodness. I want to weep. Beautiful. And scary. And beautiful. You are such an inspiration of embracing change gallantly and stepping onto it. I am not that brave yet. Even my dreams of mini-homesteading on some acreage, I think scares the heck outta me…a horse, which I want. An Old English She[herd. Which I want. And a rap around porch. An orchard. All what I want, but so scary to leap! Hope this is the best thing for you!

    🙂
    Jen

    Reply

  2. www.theevolvinghomemaker.com
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 17:08:47

    Sheepdog. Sheepdog. I am so tired.

    🙂
    Jen

    Reply

  3. Rachel
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 18:16:38

    My dear friend… I have just come home from helping your husband with the final packing of all of your worldly belongings so, though you are already there, I still feel you here. After helping carry piles of your many beautiful baskets, I found myself wandering and gathering those little last precious things to wrap up and put in a box. I discovered, hanging in your laundry room the bouquet from your wedding. I remembered wrapping these flowers with the ribbon on your wedding day and I felt a moment of so much gratitude for the opportunity to be connected with you. The precious moments of our lives that we have shared. Being witness to your radiant, fierce, strength in the birth of your big boy…… You braiding my hair as I prepared for my wedding,…… Tying the bow around you and Joe’s hands as you made your commitment to each other….Lighting candles and sage together in circles of strong, beautiful women…… Powerful Preistess, Friend, Sister, the circle truly is open, but unbroken. As I begin to feel myself pulled back in the direction of My roots on the opposite coast I can imagine us in a circle that continues to expand and expand…… and so I send an ahhhh hug and so much love and I look forward to wandering among the fairies with you and your boys when we meet again.

    Reply

  4. megan
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 19:51:49

    Amy, what a beautiful goodbye! I am so grateful we had those mornings with our first babes. what sweetness and simplicity! I am glad we can keep in touch through blogland! many kisses to you and your boys! enjoy that ocean!

    Reply

Leave a comment